July 30, 2007

Greetings to all. I have not been able to get on line for some time now due to electricity cuts. I hope I will be able to make this entry. The mbapatt finished this weekend (though I was unable to attend the final matches). I must correct myself as I have found out that there is indeed a prize that goes to the winner. Wrestling is a very important sport here, and I have only approached as it relates to the the gewel tradition. It needs to be a focus of its own.

I did have the opportunity to meet Gris Bordeaux briefly last week when he made a visit to his drummer Pa Ousman Faye, a member of the Sing Sing family (he is in the foreground of the picture below, wearing the Baye Fall outfit). The second picture is me with the champion.

Leave a Reply

